RSS

Pork…the other white meat.

31 Mar

So as I was doing my chores today and staring at the rain POURING down…I though, oh yeah, I have to think of what to make for tomorrow. Ugh.
If I had a family they would have to throw out requests or they would starve. :-/ me not so creative…
But being GF / DF you kinda have to make everything from scratch. bummer!
But…I do think food does taste better that way, even if I can’t just pop it in the microwave and *poof* healthy nutritious meal, ya right.
My only problem is that I’m broken after cooking… New spine please! N-E-Way..

Here’s what I made. It was really easy, but after doing laundry and my Pilates I needed a bit-o-coffee to help me through it. Man that couch would be nice to lay on right about now…if I had one. 😦 (But!!! I got a job and I start the 9th WOOHOO!!!!)

Ok for real, heres the recipe:

Shepherd’s Pie
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 large onion, peeled and chopped
1 large carrot, peeled and chopped
1 pound ground pork (or substitute half with another ground meat)
1 cup beef or chicken broth
1 tablespoon tomato paste
1 teaspoon chopped fresh or dry rosemary
1 tablespoon chopped Italian parsley
1 cup frozen peas
2 pounds russet potatoes, peeled and cut into chunks
6 tablespoons unsalted butter
1/2 cup milk (or almond milk…tasted just as good)
Kosher salt to taste

1. Preheat oven to 375°F.
2. In a large sauté pan over medium-high heat, heat the oil, then add the onion, carrot, and meat. Cook until browned, 8 to 10 minutes.
3. Drain the fat and add the broth, tomato paste, and herbs. Simmer until the juices thicken, about 10 minutes, then add the peas.
4. Pour the mixture into a 1 1/2-quart baking dish; set aside.
5. Meanwhile, bring the potatoes to a boil in salted water. Cook until tender, about 20 minutes; drain.
6. Mash the potatoes with the butter, milk, and salt. (I cheated, I used GF idahoan mix…but added potato flour to thicken it up).
7. Spread them over the meat mixture, then crosshatch the top with a fork.
8. Bake until golden, 30 to 35 minutes.

For the rest of the package of peas, add frozen green orbs to a lil water, add butter, salt, pepper, cook…
eat eat eat! molt, expand, repeat!!! 😛

20120331-191926.jpg

I got this recipe from epicurious, modified it a lil, but please rate it at that link so others can enjoy the wonderful yumminess…really, the more reviews the more likely someone will try it. 😉

You can view the complete recipe online at: http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/Shepherds-Pie-240224?mbid=ipapp

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
