RSS

Motivation revised…

30 Jun

I am one of those people who grew up with a (plastic coated) silver spoon in their mouth. I say plastic coated cuz it’s all a facade…you think your parents have money, but it’s all debt and loans.
Ok, Dave Ramsey talk aside.

I was never taught about life lessons… Well maybe a few really important ones (a few meaning 2), but I wish I could go back and do it over again, but I can’t. So I have to learn things the hard way…like with a steal beam upside the head…

So this week my uncle…my favorite uncle… Had his leg amputated. Necrosis due to untreated infection. I’ll spare you the picture the nurse showed me. It was worse than what I saw on google images. But I had to watch the video I posted earlier again to get motivation for myself. Because this pain I deal with daily is really getting to be a pain in the neck (or back) on my social life…more so the lack thereof.

So I am determined to DO something. It’s gonna be painful – mentally, sleep deprivation, and time consuming. But if I do nothing, nothing happens.

Behold, I have refined thee, but not with silver; I have chosen thee in the furnace of affliction. -Isaiah 48:10

I am feeling that furnace, but I can’t look at the flames or I’ll burn…
I appreciate all who take time to read about my boring life, it helps motivate me.

Watch the video again or for the first time, this one is slightly different. It still brings a tear to my eye.

motivation video (extended version)

P.S. those two life lessons…
1) NEVER fight or argue with your spouse in front of your kids. I never once saw them do this when I was growing up…although I think patience grows thin the older you get, I’ve had to reprove one of them lately for this…
2) If your parent offers to pay a hearty reward for good grades…TAKE THEM SERIOUSLY! I missed out on a trip to Europe after my senior year and then they went to Europe and left me home with grandma… So when they offered to pay 3/4 of my tuition in college if I got all A’s & B’s, you betcha I took them serious and got a 3.9 GPA!!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 30, 2012 in A day in the life of Jeni

 

Leave a Reply

 
