RSS

Finally a GF/DF Chocolate Chip Cookie worth making! :D

17 Aug

I have been on a journey…and sometimes I stray from that journey. –>;;; Read this post to understand what journey I’m on…

N-E-Way, I’ve been wanting to find a recipe for GF/DF chocolate chip cookies that are chewy, not crunchy (I hate those kind) and one that doesn’t take much effort, because I really don’t feel good today (Fibromyalgia flare up). But it’s Friday and I only want a few cookies, but making a whole batch is not worth it for just me, and I’m making a Peach and Blackberry Crisp/Pie tomorrow for my Sunday Lunch with my friends. So I finally got my excuse! My friend sent a text that she’s having an ice cream gathering tonight….it’s been upper 90’s all week.

I can’t have dairy, so I like to make something I can munch on. I searched MANY blogs for good reviews and I finally pinned it down to this one. I don’t remember which blog I got it from because I only took a screen shot before continuing my search…but I modified it a little, so it’s not completely plagiarized…

So here’s a pic if you want to see how BeAuTiFuL these look…and then drool…and then bake some for yourself.

20120817-172434.jpg

Now here’s the recipe. Easy Peasy… 🙂

GF/DF Chocolate Chip Cookies

Ingredients:
•2 1/4 Cups Bob’s Red Mill GF AP flour
•1 tsp GF Baking Powder
•1 tsp Baking Soda
•1/2 tsp Salt
•1 1/4 tsp Xanthan Gum
•3/4 Cup Earth Balance, softened
•3/4 Cup packed Brown Sugar
•1/2 Cup Sugar
•2 Eggs (I’m not a Vegan, so use egg replacer if you are…I don’t know the amount)
•2 tsp GF Vanilla Extract
•10-12 Oz Dark Chocolate Chunks (because regular choc chips bother my tummy)
•1/2 Cup chopped Walnuts

Directions:

1) Heat oven to 375° F.
2) Combine butter, brown sugar, sugar, eggs, and vanilla in mixer bowl until creamy.
3) In smaller separate bowl mix GF Flour, baking soda, baking powder, xanthan gum, and salt. Whisk to combine.
4) Slowly add in your flour to creamed mixture while beating until combined.
5) Add Chocolate Chunks and Walnuts until combined.
6) Dough may be sticky, so I refrigerated for about an hour while I made some GF/DF Ranch Dressing, and ate some potato salad…Mmmm Potatoes…
7) Line your cookie sheet with parchment paper. (I line my stoneware with it because it’s been glutened in the past and I don’t want to buy a new one yet). Use a small scooper (or two small spoons) to drop cookies about 1 1/2″ apart. They don’t spread as much because of the extra Xanthan gum, so don’t worry if they are a little close together.
8) Bake for 9-12 minutes. My first batch I went 9 minutes, and they were a bit underdone, but some peoples like it that way…me included. The next batch I left it in for 10 minutes.

20120817-172920.jpg
9) After pulling it out of the oven, let it sit for 3 minutes on your cookie sheet before transferring to cooling rack.
10) DEVOUR! Oh wait!…I mean share with friends! 😉

20120817-172903.jpg

;

20120817-172929.jpg

 
 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
