RSS

You would think I’m cooking with gluten ;-)

21 Aug

If you ever go into the natural food section at your grocery store, Fred Meyer if you live on the West Coast, sometimes they have the free magazines publication from that store.
Most the time I pass it up, on occasion I pick it up. They usually have a GF recipe in there and some good info on how to prepare certain food that you don’t know why they exist. 😉
Oddly enough when I went through the self checkout I just put it in the bag before paying…it IS free you know. But the kiosk said, “please take last item out of bag and place on the scanner”. Why I think this is funny is because there are things I’ve scanned and it never recognizes the weight, but yet it can feel a free magazine. Go figure, so anywho…
There was a Peach & Blackberry crisp recipe in there that melts in your mouth!!! I had 3 peaches I was needing to use up and I just froze my blackberries so it was perfect! I also have these awesome GF pie crusts I get at Bob’s Red Mill store. (I am soooo spoiled to live down the street from the actual factory!)
I decided to make mine a pie crisp and use one of those shells. And I’ll try to figure out a vegan pumpkin pie for the other shell, they come in a 2 pack. :]
So now that your mouth is watering, here’s the recipe.

20120821-144003.jpg

Peach and Blackberry Crisp

Ingredients:
• 4 peaches, pitted and sliced into 1/2″ thick wedges
• 1 1/2 cup blackberries
• 1 Tbs fresh lemon juice
• 2 Tbs cornstarch
• 1/3 cup sugar

Crisp Topping:
• 1 cup Bob’s Red Mill AP GF flour (or regular flour if u eat that)
• 3/4 cup firmly packed brown sugar
• 1/2 tsp salt
• 1/4 tsp cinnamon
• 6 Tbs cold unsalted butter (I did use butter this time, I’m not sure if Earth Balance will hold up)
• 1/2 cup old-fashioned GF rolled oats

1) Heat oven to 350° F.

2) Toss peaches, Blackberries, lemon juice, cornstarch, and sugar in a large bowl until well combined. Transfer mixture to a 13″ x 9″ baking dish.

3) To make topping, mix together flour, brown sugar, salt, and cinnamon. Using your fingertips work butter into flour mixture until pea sized crumbs start to form. Add oats and carefully stir mixture to combine.

4) Sprinkle topping evenly over fruit.

5) Bake for 45 to 50 minutes, or until top of Crisp is golden brown. (if using a pie shell as a base, put a cookie sheet underneath your 9 inch pie pan so that the crumbs do not fall in your oven).

6) Eat, Eat, Eat! Molt, Expand, Repeat!
(oh wait, I was supposed to be on a diet…) 😀

 
1 Comment

Posted by on August 21, 2012 in A day in the life of Jeni, Food and drink

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “You would think I’m cooking with gluten ;-)

  1. Cassy

    August 22, 2012 at 6:17 AM

    Oh yummy! That looks absolutely delicious! I don’t eat gluten free all the time….but I like to mix things up a little!

     

Leave a Reply

 
