RSS

Almost Vegan pizza! “I like green pizza, no ham Sam I am!”

29 Aug

I have been wanting to make my own pizzas, because GF DF pizzas are about $14 for a 10″….not cheap!
So I bought Bobs Red Mill pizza crust mix…and it’s still in the bag. πŸ˜›
Today I saw Udi’s GF pizza crust pre made! (only $4.49 for 2, not too bad)
The crust is GF, DF, soy free, nut free, but not egg free.

20120829-161833.jpg

I was going to use the pepperoni that has been in my fridge but then after seeing the expiration date was last year of October and a consensus over text that it’s probably not okay. So that’s when I made it a vegan pizza minus the whole crust having egg thing.
Here’s a step-by-step of how it looks as I was making it.

20120829-161908.jpg

20120829-161922.jpg

20120829-161936.jpg

20120829-161947.jpg
I started with a pesto for the sauce, added my Dayia mozzarella cheese, topped with mushrooms, orange bell pepper, shallots, zucchini, (all thinly sliced). Then topped with Trader Joes 21 Season Salute (see pic for what’s all in it, it’s my use on EVERYTHING seasoning!) Topped with more Dayia then baked on 375Β° F for 9-10 min.
Superb!!! It tastes sooooo good!!!!! πŸ˜€
Here’s the seasoning…

20120829-162327.jpg

Sam! If you will let me be, I will try it. You will see.

20120829-162447.jpg
Hey! I like green pizza, no ham!
I do! I like them, Sam I am!
And I would eat it in a boat.
And I would eat it with a goat…
And I will eat it in the rain.
And in the dark. And on a train.
And in a car. And in a tree.
It is so good, so good, you see!
So I will eat it in a box.
And I will eat it with a fox.
And I will eat it in a house.
And I will eat it with a mouse.
And I will eat it here and there.
Say! I will eat it ANYWHERE!
I do so like green pizza, no ham!
Thank you!
Thank you,
Sam I am!

20120829-162931.jpg
P.S. I totally grossed out my nephew with the whole veggies and pesto that he disowned me until I eat some meat. LOL!! πŸ˜›

 
3 Comments

Posted by on August 29, 2012 in A day in the life of Jeni, Food and drink

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Almost Vegan pizza! “I like green pizza, no ham Sam I am!”

  1. Cassy

    August 30, 2012 at 6:50 AM

    Hahaha that pizza looks delicious! I am also planning on making my own pizza some time this weekend!

     
    • jeni315

      August 30, 2012 at 8:59 AM

      This one is totally justifiable cuz it’s REALLY healthy for you! πŸ˜‰
      (except the Dayia) I have almond cheese too, that’s more natural and tastes good too, it just wasn’t shredded. It’s Lisanati brand. I found out my old boss’s wife is CEO of that company or something. So I buy it to help support him…and I love almonds. πŸ˜›

       
      • Cassy

        August 30, 2012 at 9:03 AM

        Oooh that’s awesome! I just use… actual cheese since I don’t mind some dairy. Pretty much cheese is the only dairy I have, and I have it so rarely that it is more like a treat. haha So making homemade pizza is awesome! I use almond milk A LOT. haha especially in my coffee and smoothies. Yummy!

         

Leave a Reply

 
