RSS

What I ate tonight

17 Jan

I’ve recently done an assessment of my physique and I think I need to make some changes in 2013….I know, typical for beginning of the year. To tell you the truth, I have been too broke to buy real food! I leaned more on potatoes, eggs, beans, oatmeal, chips n salsa for a few months too long! Today I got a payday incentive. So a grocery shopping I went!
First I’ll show you what I ate tonight and then I’ll explain. 😉

20130117-200151.jpg

20130117-200204.jpg
I need to eat more veggies than I have been. Potatoes tend to add up after a while, same with beans. So I went to my fav natural food store New Seasons and loaded up on the organics! Almost all their produce is organic and I looooove that! ❤ I really don't like Trader Joe's cuz it's like a search and rescue for foods I can eat. No thank you!
I loaded up on my greens. Here's some of what I got; Red cabbage, purple kale, rainbow chard, red leaf lettuce, and baby spinach (the darker the healthier). Oranges, lemons, bananas and fresh ginger so I can do smoothies again. Got lots of frozen berries that need used. And I even bought….broccoli! :-/ eek! I'm not a big veggie lover, and specially with broccoli. But I …must …eat… Green…
I'm planning on steaming the broccoli with some butter, I can do that. Just not mushy or raw please.
The kale is outside my comfort zone too. When I worked at a deli we shoved it in between the crocks of the salad bar. Then I found out years later that people actually eat it?!? O.o
One of my friends is doing the Paleo diet (way too restrictive for me!) she LOVES kale, her kids chant "we want kale!" Strange… She showed me you can cook kale with bacon! Just sauté them together (I made the mistake of throwing in the kale too soon, let the bacon sizzle first!)
That was 1/3 of my dinner, the kale and bacon. Then I cut up some sweet potatoes (the white kind, can't remember if its actually a yam?) then tossed it with olive oil, pink Himalayan salt, pepper, garlic powder, and rosemary. Roast on 400° for 30 min.
Then the last 1/3 was quinoa boiled in chicken broth (make sure to rinse quinoa before you cook or it turns out bitter). Once that was done I added chopped green onions, red peppers, Roma tomato, avocado, & cilantro. D-LISH!
I gobbled it all up, but left room for my Bobs Red Mill GF/vegan Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip cookie! 😀 To cap it all off I brewed some jasmine green tea. Ohhh boy…no room for midnight snacks tonight!
When I eat something healthy I'll post a few of them, I know I love new ideas!
If you have any ideas for all the greens I bought, comment away!
So have a healthy happy 2013 and eat something green! 😉

 
 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
