RSS

Creole GF Noodles & Sausage Main Dish

02 Feb

20130202-183009.jpg
Here is a new dish I tried out based on a variation from this recipe.
I didn’t have all the ingredients she had, so you just gotta improvise! 🙂
I had also been wanting to use some of my quinoa noodles and couldn’t pin down what to make. So this inspiration was perfect!
I wasn’t sure how it would turn out so I was really crossing my fingers on this recipe. But it was very good! I had to be sure only to have a little bit and fill up on the butternut squash soup that I also made today. I was in a cooking frenzy! And…I made homemade granola. Wow. That is so not me to be so inspired to cook like this. Maybe it’s the “new me”. Haha…or the the B-12 that’s working. 😉
So enough talk, lets get cooking!

Creole GF Noodles & Sausage
Main Dish: Serves 4

Ingredients:
1 lb Italian sausage (I used Johnsonville Bratwurst)
8 oz. GF quinoa rotelle pasta (or which ever style noodles you want)
4 oz. can of diced green chilies (Trader Joes brand are .79 cents each!)
1/2 green pepper, chopped
1/2 red pepper, chopped
1/2 onion, chopped
2 cloves of garlic
Salt & pepper to taste
Creole Seasoning to taste (mild to burning hot, your choice)
Sauce:
3/4 cup GF chicken stock
1 Tbs GF Worcestershire sauce
1/2 tsp cornstarch

Directions:
1) Boil water for noodles.
2) Brown sausage then cut into pieces. It’s ok if it’s not all the way cooked.
3) Cut up green pepper, red pepper, onion. Add to skillet with grapeseed oil (or olive oil) add 2 cloves crushed garlic. Sauté for little bit to coat with oil and add can of green chilies & cut sausage.
4) Season with salt, pepper, and creole seasoning to taste. (I used Cajuns Choice brand).
5) In liquid measuring cup add 1/2 – 3/4 cup cold organic chicken stock (Costco has a great brand). Worcestershire sauce, cornstarch and stir.
6) When water boils add 8 oz. GF quinoa pasta (got it at Fred Meyer in the GF section). Boil for 6 minutes adding dash of salt and oil.
7) Add the cornstarch mix to sautéed veggies and sausage, cover, let it get bubbly for a few minutes. Then stir.
8) When noodles are done (not mushy, but slightly aldente but not too aldente), drain noodles in colander and add to sauté pan. Mix until combined.
And enjoy! 😀

20130202-190111.jpg

 
 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
