RSS

Homemade GF Granola

12 Feb

20130212-125249.jpg

After about a year of buying super expensive 11 oz (only makes 3 bowls) gluten free granola at the store, I finally came across this recipe. It’s so easy it’s ridiculous! It’s also subject to your own creativity as well. So give it a try, see how much it makes in the end and then throw your head back laughing at how much money you wasted on “gluten free marketing”. You can omit the last part if you want. 😉
(The above picture is before baking).

Gluten Free Homemade Granola
3 cups old fashioned GF oats
1/4 – 1/3 c extra virgin organic coconut oil melted
1/2 c organic maple syrup (Costco)
1/2 tsp sea salt
Handfuls of:
Walnuts, cashews,
raw pumpkin seeds,
ground flax,
dried cranberries.
I also added a little of chia seeds,
hulled millet seeds (my birds favorite),
and organic dark chocolate chips, but you can add really whatever you like.

Mix dry ingredients together first then add coconut oil and stir. Then add in maple syrup, stir. Make sure it’s all coated, but not soaking. If it’s a little dry add a little more maple syrup as needed. (You can add more coconut oil, but I really don’t like the taste so I use as little as possible, it’s healthy so that’s why I use it).

Bake at 350° for 30 minutes on lined cookie sheet. If you are more coordinated than me you can stir after 15 minutes, but I didn’t and it turned out ok (I’m a klutz). If you have chocolate chips in it you might not want to stir or it will be a sticky mess. Let cool on cookie sheet, then put in air tight container when completely cool.

It’s really yummy…and smells wonderful right now as its baking. :-]

Possible alternative ingredients:
Peanut butter
Almond butter
Buckwheat
Quinoa
Peanuts
Raw Sunflower Seeds
Cinnamon (I just realized if forgot to add this!)
Nutmeg,
Allspice,
Dried raisins, or blueberries, or apricots, or pomegranates! (Saw these at the store the other day and was iffy about it, but a friend had some and they are soooo good!)

If you have other combos you like, comment below, I’d love to see what others put together. 🙂

(This is my granola after baking, I added my cinnamon and nutmeg on top because I have “Sometimers”).

20130212-133014.jpg

 
 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
