RSS

Quick after work dinner…

21 Feb

Did you notice the title? Today was an exciting day….I started my new job!!!!! Yea!!! After seven months of being unemployed I am sooo ready to get back to drafting! The job I have is drawing fiber optic telecommunication plans. Sounds like a mouthful but it’s just laying the proposed fiber optic cables for business/commercial use. I use a mouse, not a shovel. I did similar drafting for T-Mobile when they were upgrading their towers to the latest and greatest systems. Everyone is super friendly and laid back. My kinda workplace! Beautiful office too. They designed the interior from shack like conditions a warm uptown office. (Sounds like an oxymoron but its hard to describe). Think red brick, black steel, glass, & original old growth Douglass fir beams circa 1923.
Anyway…something new in addition to my new job is I’m going to try going off refined sugar. Eek!
Me and a friend have been going to a nutrition class for the last 5 weeks and its about the paleo diet taken to the extreme. Based on the book “Maximized Living Nutrition Plans” by Dr. B.J. Hardrick, Kimberly Roberto, & Dr. Ben Lerner.
No grains, no sugar, and no a bunch of other stuff. They say you can do dairy, but raw form. No thank you! I can’t stomach dairy anyway. But the whole concept is it cuts out all sugar (berries stevia, xylitol and Granny Smith apples an exception) for the advanced healing plan so that your body can naturally detox, you are burning fat and not sugar.
Your body burns either sugar or fat for energy, if you cut out the sugar you naturally lose weight faster because you have to burn it for the energy.
I’m trying to do this to help my friend with her motivation to stick with it. If we eat sugar we have to fess up and text her husband so we are accountable. He said he would buy the winner something. I laughed and said, “What? YoCream?” Ha! Sure…give us a sugar headache why don’t you. :-p
I’m not doing the extreme only berries for fruits kinda sugar detox. I’m just staying away from refined sugar or added sugar. (Although my 1 Tbs of miracle whip in my tuna salad today had 1 gm…but I don’t count that!…shhh don’t tell) 😉 I am doing the Granny Smith apples and Adams peanut butter. It’s yummy. (GS apples are lower glycemic).

So all this talk about taking, adding…so now that you read my novel I guess I should give you the recipe. 🙂 I got it from the TruRoots website of these organic sprouted beans I got at Costco a while back.

20130221-211520.jpg
I really had no idea what to do with them until I went to the website for an idea. Although their cooking time is a bit off! My beans were stills but aldenté.
So here’s the modified version below. It’s got nice flavor! The tomatoes add a sweet flavor, even though there’s no sugar. 😉

Italian sprouted bean soup

Ingredients:
2 tablespoons olive oil
1 med onion, finely diced
2 carrots, finely diced
2 stalks celery, finely diced
3 cloves garlic, minced
One 14-ounce can Organic diced tomatoes
4 cups vegetable or chicken broth
1 bay leaf
1 cup truRoots Sprouted Bean Trio
¼ cup minced fresh parsley (or 1 tsp dried)
Sea Salt and pepper, to taste
Preparation:
Heat the olive oil in a large saucepan over medium heat. Add the onion, carrot, and celery, and cook, partially covered, until softened, about 10 minutes.
Add the garlic and cook for 1 to 2 minutes, stirring occasionally.
Stir in broth, bay leaf, tomatoes and seasonings, bring to a boil. Add the bean trio. Reduce heat and simmer 15 minutes, until the lentils are tender. Cover and let stand for 5 minutes.
Makes 4 to 6 servings

Note: If you can’t find the sprouted bean mix at Costco try mixing equal parts mung beans, green lentils, and adzuki beans. (Sprouted if possible)

Enjoy!

 
 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
