RSS

Protein Breakfast Scramble

01 Jun

Today is one of those Saturdays where you just take your sweet time doing whatever you want because you don’t have to go anywhere. Unfortunately those days is when I tend to eat breakfast at 2 PM… because its just not convenient and I really don’t want to eat oatmeal again. What I really needed today was some good tasty protein and pronto!
So what I conjured up today was this:
(don’t judge… it’s tasty!)

20130601-142600.jpg
I used what I had and it turned out pretty good!!
Enough talk, let’s get cookin!

Protein Breakfast Scramble
Ingredients:
• 1/4 lb of cooked sausage (I’m using the rest of my lb in my dinner for tonight)
• 3 eggs (or more)
• Almond Milk (unsweetened original)
• almond cheese (I used Lisanatti brand – helping support the locals!)
• 1/2 bell pepper, chopped
• 1 shallot, peeled & chopped
• 1/2 can of black beans, rinsed
• salt & pepper (I like pink hymalians salt)
• garlic & onion powder
• half can of olives, drained & sliced.

The method to my madness:
• Cook up the Italian (or what ever type) sausage in a separate pan until cooked all the way through.
• In non stick frying pan, sauté shallots and black beans in some olive oil until shallots are near translucent.
• Add bell peppers and continue to sauté.
• Mix up in a bowl eggs, s&p & spices, then whisk in almond milk, then pour into NS frying pan.
• Add cooked sausage on top, then let the egg cook a little and start scrambling. Add in the olives. (I really only used maybe 5 olives chopped, but I kept eating the rest…)
• Once the eggs start to look not so runny, I add in the cheese. If you add the cheese in when the eggs are still runny things just get slimy….and that’s where I start gagging…
• Wait till cheese is melted and then serve!

I didn’t use a lot of spices in this recipe because the sausage was already heavily spiced. (New Seasons super healthy pig named Georgio- he’s Italian 😉 who ate no grains but ate lots of spices to make him so succulent, never consumed GMO’s and was treated fairly….until slaughter…)
Try it out for yourself! I almost want to eat the second half, but want to save it for tomorrow when I actually have to get a move on in the morning. 🙂

 
 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Protein Breakfast Scramble

  1. horatio nelson

    June 3, 2013 at 5:10 PM

    Looks simple and appetizing. Great blog!

     
    • jeni315

      June 3, 2013 at 5:37 PM

      Thanks! If its not simple I tend to move on. Maybe it’s cuz I get overwhelmed easily….or I just don’t want to put forth the time. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
