RSS

Summer chicken bean soup

07 Jul

This weekend I realized what true exhaustion really is! There were guests coming from afar (and not family, so deep cleaning is a must!) I am so glad I snatched up a Living Social deal for a cleaning lady. It really helped make my Wednesday more enjoyable. Plus having someone to talk to while you clean helps keep you accountable to cleaning! (No resting and pinning on Pinterest!)
I did so much in-town driving too taking friends to the homes they would be staying at, it was nice to have the one-on-one chat time with them.
On Thursday night I was at a friends house who lived in fireworks city! Just about every other house was lighting them off! That was pretty neat since I was thinking I wasn’t going to be able to see any this year with the events I was going to. But the drive home was kinda scary! Trying to pry your eyes open with someone chatting away while you are trying to focus on staying on the road and watching out for drunk drivers was quite a challenge! When I got home I passed out on the couch with bird in hand (he was happy about that).
Friday was more relaxed day and fun to spend the last moments with my friends. A big group of us went up to Pittock Mansion to check out the view and then Red Robin for dinner.
So after all that my Saturday was pretty lazy other than laundry. It’s nice to have an already clean home. :-]

20130706-233702.jpg
I forced myself to make a salad, (why is salad always better when someone else makes it??) and I got some reading in while working on tanning my arms, and painting my nails.
By the end of the day I’m beat, but didn’t want to have to pick up take-out tomorrow. So here’s what I came up with in my half conscious creativity…smells good! šŸ˜€

20130707-080529.jpg

Summer Chicken Bean Soup

Ingredients:
ā€¢ 2 frozen chicken breasts
ā€¢ 32 oz. liquid chicken stock (Costco)
ā€¢ 5 cups water
ā€¢ 2 cans great northern white beans, rinsed and drained
ā€¢ 6 oz. frozen peas
ā€¢ 3 celery stalks, chopped
ā€¢ 3 carrots, peeled and chopped
ā€¢ 1 white onion, chopped
ā€¢ 2-3 garlic cloves, peeled and chopped
ā€¢ 1 can diced green chilies
ā€¢ 1/2 tsp dried thyme
ā€¢ 1 tsp dried parsley
ā€¢ 3/4 tsp sea salt
ā€¢ 1/2 tsp pepper
ā€¢ 1/4 tsp cayenne

In crockpot add all ingredients and cook for 4 hours. At end, shred chicken with a fork, stir and serve.
Total no brainer!
It may not look too appealing with the peas but I like it. (Omit peas if that pleases you).

20130706-233622.jpg
Getting some kitty cuddle time in. :-}
šŸ’—”I think I’m in luv”šŸ’—

 
 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

One response to “Summer chicken bean soup

  1. check over here

    July 27, 2013 at 4:06 AM

    Hello, after reading this remarkable paragraph i am also delighted
    to share my experience here with colleagues.

     

Leave a Reply

 
