RSS

Summer Cold Remedy

13 Jul

Well this week I decided to repeat my soup from last week except I made minor tweaks of adding ginger, lots more garlic (I could smell it when I returned home from my errands) and black eyed peas. It smelled wonderful!!

As the title states, I feel like I’m getting sick…and at the worst possible timing. I thank my co-worker who shared this nasty bug with me. I’ve just been achy all day and felt like my head was going to explode this morning…and my “neglected” bird (he just thinks he’s neglected if I go to the other room without him) was NOT HELPING my headache. I think he knows when to pull on that cord…and you would think he would back off after the first time getting in trouble…maybe that’s where the “bird brain” comes into play…

20130713-215416.jpg
Anyway I loaded up on the vitamin C at New Seasons Market. Got some strawberries, Valencia oranges, pink lady apples, and some lemons. I forgot some fresh ginger!! >< DOH!
One other treat I had found instead of cough drops were these organic lemon and honey drops. No artificial anything. I also snagged a pomegranate flavor too. Both taste very yummy, not too sweet to twinge your fillings, but just right!

20130713-215643.jpg

Ok, my recipes for this week are not the typicals… They are cold remedies. One is sweet and the other spicy, but it only burns for a few minutes. 😉

First the sweet:
Elderberry Tea
• 2 tsp Sambucus Elderberry Extract
• 1/2 organic fresh squeezed lemon
• 1 tsp RAW honey (local preferred)
• warm purified water

Start warming your water to an almost boil.
Add elderberry extract, honey, lemon juice to a mug of choice, then add the warm water. You could even use a pinch of sea salt to help with the inflammation! But it’s important to not boil the water because it will take away from all the natural antibiotics in the honey and the anti-viral in the elderberry extract.
Drink this about 2-3 times a day depending on if you are preventing or actually feel the sickness coming on.

Now for the spicy:
Cough Remedy
¼ teaspoon Cayenne
¼ teaspoon Ginger (I used powdered)
1 Tablespoon Cider Vinegar (an organic one, like Bragg’s, is preferred.)
2 Tablespoon Water
1 Tablespoon raw local Honey

Dissolve cayenne and ginger in cider vinegar and water. Add honey and shake well. Take 1 Tablespoon as needed for cough. (Warning: warming sensation down your throat!)
Note: this doesn’t dissolve perfectly. Always shake well before using.

If you make this in small batches as the recipe is written, there is no need to refrigerate.
If you prefer, you may refrigerate this. It keeps as long as you need it. I like to make small batches (it is so easy to mix up.) and use it up in a just a few days.

So pick your poison, but I’m gonna beat this as natural as possible. Oh one more potion I’m going to try, (I haven’t tried it yet because I haven’t been sick in a long time). It’s the dōTerra OnGuard essential oil blend and I’m hoping will be the magic key. I just have to get a hold of my rep so I can skip the shipping time. I think they ship pretty fast, but I need this like pronto and don’t want to pay the expedited shipping if you know what I mean.

** hopefully the link for the dōTerra site works, the website was doing maintenance at the time I copied the link. The link I was trying to grab gives a small discount if you make an account, which I think on a single oil covers shipping, but for multiple oils is a better bargain.

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
